Information Overload

It is with sheepish reflection that I begin this post.

As an pre-service educator I am in love with the process of learning and creating my own new knowledges. So when my son brings home his homework on homographs I am of course only to happy to help and clarify a few things for him.

Where to look for information that will allow me to explain?  Of course I reach for the closest ‘i-device’. Many, many websites later and the distinction between homophones, homographs and homonyms is as clear as… well mud to be truthful.

Lesson One– It is advisable to have a fundamental understanding of a topic before challenging the ideas of others. Another is the humility one must display when proven to be wrong in such instances.

Lesson Two– Before approaching a classroom teacher to challenge what you believe to be an incorrect interpretation of a definition- check your sources. With so much information available it is important that the quality and credibility of sources is considered.

My enthusiasm or arrogance (you may decide) saw me enter into an academic discussion adamant that my newly purchased Primary Grammar Dictionary 3rd edition authored by Gordon Winch (2013) would prove my case.

What I found was a very generous teacher that had taken her own time during the day to print out the relevant curriculum documents to help clarify my thinking. For those interested the curriculum glossary http://www.australiancurriculum.edu.au/Static/docs/senior%20secondary/English%20Glossary.pdf Why didn’t this occur to me?

Just as students need to be taught to discern between materials I think it is a lesson that we are teachers- all be it in training, need to heed to also.

Leave a Reply

