Bee Bot Bonanza

One of the most exciting and rewarding things about becoming a teacher is engaging with games and manipulatives that have the potential to inspire a love of learning in students.

A previous post of mine hinted at my impulsive tendencies, my love for books and anything classified as educational. 

I again have fallen vicim to my whim. My postman delivered my latest purchase on Friday.

Image

I am so excited to bring these into the classroom. My children have given the seal of approval and I just know they are going to be a huge hit with my prac class. I’ve come across some great blogs about bee bots and have amassed a few ideas already. I managed to find what I believe to be older stock as these are still battery powered for half the price of USB rechargeable models. Apparently batteries will give 8hrs life and the Bee bots sleep automatically after a few minutes of inactivity. That’s good enough for me. I just wish I could have gotten more. Three for the whole class might be a bit difficult. Needless to say my laminator has been getting a work out making time and money cards to use.

Now the next thing I am waiting for…… is giant number and dot dice as well as 12 sided giant foam dice. The plan is to use them for quick warm up games as a whole class drill exercise. Add the two dice, subtract the smaller value from the larger value. There are so many ways to use dice. Check this out– toward the end of the document some more great ides with dice.

I think I should learn my postman’s name- I have a feeling we are going to become very good friends at least over my first few years of teaching. My second take away front his situation is I am far better off to blog in the wee hours before i hit the hay then search for teaching ideas. At least my bank account thinks so!

 

 

Leave a Reply

